Daily Archives: October 27, 2010

Fall in Plains, MT (and CA)

As I look out toward my back cliff (no bears on their way into the trees), my mind’s rambling like Autumn moving toward winter. I’m unhooking hoses, wearing an extra layer, and bringing in plants. With my slightly green thumb, I can only hope for the 80% Teen Challenge success rate reported by the group visiting Paradise and Plains Methodist Churches a few Sundays back. I especially related to one woman whose life had turned from streets to structure and hiking Missoula trails on her one day off. Because of their stories, I’ve a connection to Higher Grounds Coffee kiosk near MT U; we pass it each Thursday on the way to rehearse Missoula Community Chorus pieces for the Christmas Concert, December 10, at Loyola. Tod Trimble’s getting good sound blends, pure vowels, and musicality from us! Tickets: me or Andrew.Morris@Missoulachorus.net. Closer to Plains, we’ve begun a community chorus with Director Dixie who’s moving us toward choirdom as we increase from a handful to dozens at New Horizons, a care facility that’s closing soon. What are those dear old folks to do if ousted from what’s become home?  Their assisted living digs make a good yoga meeting place, but it’s a sad substitute for life care there.

I recently left Plains’ colors for a week near Napa, CA, babysitting grandkids while my son and wife celebrated their tenth anniversary at Chalone Winery, where they were married. They returned renewed, the kids never slowed down, and I came home happy, if exhausted. Owen’s part of a Spanish Immersion Kindergarten and eager soccer team. Lila’s up for most any food, swing, or story. At two, she kicks hard and straight!

Bob, Harry, and Cliff have generously made me their golf project each Wednesday; I’m seeing enough progress to keep me enthused! Views from the 9-hole course couldn’t be beat on $$$$ courses. Other calendar events bring surprising Arts and fun to Plains: MT Rep Theatre “Legend of Sleepy Hollow” 11/5, 7pm, at the highschool, www.sanderscountyarts.com 406.826.3150, Christmas Tour of Homes, 12/11, www.plainswomansclub.com , MT Rep Theatre “Bus Stop”, 1/31/11, and removal of Art on the Walls to make way for a county children’s exhibit. Call me for tickets or overnight in my guest room.